Roman Catholic Parish of Malanda (with Millaa Millaa)

At a glance

We have two churches, St James, Malanda (see a map), and St Rita of Cascia, Millaa Millaa (see a map). Malanda Parish Office, ph: (07) 4096 5156.

Some office functions are undertaken in Atherton's Parish Office, 28 Mabel Street; ph (07) 4091 1125.

On the Covid-19 restrictions, see the News page.

About us

The Parish of Malanda, in the Diocese of Cairns, Far-North Queensland, was established in 1959. It includes Millaa Millaa (previously under Ravenshoe, and sometime under Herberton) and covers the south-eastern part of the Atherton Tablelands. The parish boundaries have changed several times, sometimes including Yungaburra (currently under Atherton). The registrations of baptisms, confirmations, weddings and deaths from 1959 up to today are therefore variously divided among the registers of four parishes (Malanda, Atherton, Herberton, and Ravenshoe).

Parish headquarters: 5-11 Monash Avenue, Malanda.
Parish Office and Presbytery (residence): Malanda Catholic Parish Centre, 5 Monash Avenue; phone (07) 4096 5156.
Main church: St James' Church, 7 Monash Avenue, Malanda.

Other church: St Rita of Cascia, 21 Coral Street, Millaa Millaa.

Some office matters are handled in the Atherton Parish Office: 28 Mabel Street, Atherton; ph (07) 4091 1125.

Parish Bulletin

PDF copies of the most recent Malanda bulletin and Ravenshoe bulletin.

Browse the site

Below are links to the main sections of the site.