News of relevance to the Parish or region may appear here.

For memorials of recently deceased parishioners, please use the link above.

See the links page for prayer and liturgical resources for use at home during this time of crisis.

Covid-19 restrictions - updated 16 April 2021

Number limits in churches

Covid-19 restrictions require us to follow the rule for occupancy density of 2 square meters per person applies, and to “observe physical distancing to the extent possible”, that is, as much as is possible to keep 1.5 meters between individuals or household groups. This limits us to: 60 in Malanda, 34 in Yungaburra, and 49 in Millaa Millaa.

The mandate to wear masks has been lifted, but they are still to be worn when physical distancing is not possible.

For ordinary Sundays regular attendees are known and managing the number limits is relatively easy; for special occasions prior registration may be needed. To register, please phone Fr Barry (4096 5156), Roger Goodwill (4096 8308), or Alban and Janice Hunt (4096 6304), or the Atherton Parish office during office hours (4091 1125). The record for each gathering must be kept for 56 days. See the liturgy calendar for the schedule.

Constant rules for attending

Gatherings in our churches are subject to ongoing Covid-19 restrictions:

  1. Anyone who is unwell (even if “only a Cold”) must stay at home.
  2. Anyone who has been in contact with a known case of Covid-19 in the last 14 days must stay at home.
  3. Anyone being tested for Covid-19 and still awaiting results must stay at home.
  4. As much as possible keep physical spacing of at least 1.5m.

Rules 1-3 also affect the priest; if he is unable to attend a deacon or lay led liturgy will replace the planned Mass.

Weddings and Funerals

Although weddings and funerals now have a higher limit in other venues, the same number restrictions as above apply in our churches because of their sizes.

Anyone who becomes unwell within 14 days of attending a wedding or funeral is to contact 13Health (1343 2584) or their General Practitioner.