Easter and Christmas

For the convenience of residents and visitors alike these tiems cover all churches in the Atherton Tablelands region. The calendars update automatically from the diaries maintained by the parish offices and parish priest.

Paschal Triduum (Holy Thursday — Easter Sunday)

Easter Sunday, the feast of the Lord’s Resurrection, is observed on the Sunday after the first Full Moon after the Equinox in March; the earliest it can be is 22 March, and the latest is 25 April. The Paschal Triduum (Three Day Commemoration) begins on Holy Thursday evening and concludes with Vespers (Evening Prayer) on Easter Sunday. Each day has its own special liturgies.

The proper name for the day after Good Friday and before Easter Sunday is Holy Saturday, not Easter Saturday, which is the one after Easter Sunday and is the seventh day of Easter.

Easter weddings

Weddings are prohibited on Good Friday and Holy Saturday. They may take place on Easter Sunday but due to their liturgical obligations across the whole region the local priests and deacons may not be available. It is best not to plan for a wedding on Easter Sunday.

Easter dates for the following years


Ash Wednesday 06 March
Palm Sunday 14 April
Holy Thursday 18 April
Good Friday 19 April
Holy Saturday 20 April
Easter Sunday 21 April


Ash Wednesday 26 February
Palm Sunday 05 April
Holy Thursday 09 April
Good Friday 10 April
Holy Saturday 12 April
Easter Sunday 12 April

Paschal Triduum times

The usual Sunday Mass times cannot be maintained for Easter Sunday; as times a decided in each parish they will appear in Liturgy Times.

Christmas times

The usual Sunday Mass times cannot be maintained for Christmas; please see Liturgy Times for details.