Calendars

Easter and Christmas

For the convenience of residents and visitors alike these tiems cover all churches in the Atherton Tablelands region. The calendars update automatically from the diaries maintained by the parish offices and parish priest.

Paschal Triduum (Holy Thursday — Easter Sunday)

Easter Sunday, the feast of the Lord’s Resurrection, is observed on the Sunday after the first Full Moon after the Equinox in March; the earliest it can be is 22 March, and the latest is 25 April. The Paschal Triduum (Three Day Commemoration) begins on Holy Thursday evening and concludes with Vespers (Evening Prayer) on Easter Sunday. Each day has its own special liturgies.

The proper name for the day after Good Friday and before Easter Sunday is Holy Saturday, not Easter Saturday, which is the one after Easter Sunday and is the seventh day of Easter.

Easter weddings

Catholic weddings cannot be celebrated on Good Friday, nor on Holy Saturday. They may take place on Easter Sunday but due to the liturgical obligations spread across the whole region the local priests and deacons may not be available. It is best not to plan for a wedding on Easter Sunday.

Easter dates for the following years

2018

Ash Wednesday 14 February
Palm Sunday 25 March
Holy Thursday 29 March
Good Friday 30 March
Holy Saturday 31 March
Easter Sunday 01 April

2019

Ash Wednesday 06 March
Palm Sunday 14 April
Holy Thursday 18 April
Good Friday 19 April
Holy Saturday 20 April
Easter Sunday 21 April

Paschal Triduum times

The usual Sunday Liturgy times cannot be maintained for Easter Sunday; a new schedule is yet to be formulated and will appear in Liturgy Times.

Christmas times

The usual Sunday Liturgy times cannot be maintained for Christmas; a new schedule is yet to be formulated and will appear in Liturgy Times.